Report: What’s happening in Turkey (English)

Gezi Parký olaylar

Dear friends,

You are probably already aware of what is happening in Turkey right now. What started out as a peaceful sit-in in Istanbul’s Taksim Square, to protest the construction of a shopping mall in Gezi Park, one of the few remaining ‘green’ locations in the heart of the city, has turned into a countrywide insurgency against the despotism of Prime Minister Recep Tayyip Erdoğan and his regime. Myself and my colleagues at AnatoliaLit Agency have been taking to the streets whenever possible. We were in Taksim when the resistance movement began gaining momentum on Friday afternoon, and we all suffered our share of pepper gas and teargas, which the police rained down on protestors from both land and sky. (As some of you already know, I was struck in the back by a pepper gas bomb on Friday evening. It hurt like hell, like someone hurled a brick straight at my back, but except for some soreness I’m fine now.)

Protests continue throughout the country, as does police brutality. So far, it is confirmed that one person has died, two people are in critical condition, and nearly 2,000 have been injured. (These figures are contested and it is difficult to know the true damage done due to false reports being circulated in the social media. I dare say the figures are more likely an underestimate than an overestimate, however.)

This protest was initiated in Gezi Park by a coalition of environmentalists, human rights activists, feminists, LGBTT activists, anarchists, and leftist groups- including the formidable Anti-Capitalist Muslims, who have had no qualms in aligning themselves with these groups, I should point out. These groups were protesting not only the construction of a shopping center in the park, but the imprisonment of writers, journalists, and human rights activists, the Roboski (Uludere) Massacre of December 2011 in which 34 Kurdish civilians were killed, the Reyhanli bombing earlier this year (just today the trees in the park were named after the victims of both incidents), rampant discrimination and attacks against minorities, rising femicide—in short, the manifold egregious abuses that this regime has at worst been directly responsible for or at best turned a blind eye to.

It is important to point out that this movement was not spearheaded by Turkish nationalists. Rather, at the vanguard of the movement are people fighting for human rights across the board (not to mention animal rights activists, such as those running the kitchen at Gezi Park and specifically asking for donations of vegetarian and vegan foods). While we welcome the support of people from all walks of life, it is important that this movement not be high-jacked by nationalists. Yes, the People’s Republican Party have taken to the street in support of the revolt against Erdoğan. However, there is a large contingent that does not agree with their flag-waving, especially their banners proclaiming ‘We’re all Turks, we’re all Atatürk,’ which were ubiquitous in the march we witnessed last night in our part of the city. The latter is a slogan taken from ‘We are all Armenians, we are all Hrant Dink’, which was chanted by more than two hundred thousand people who took to the streets for the funeral of journalist Hrant Dink. Hrant was an ethnic Armenian citizen of the Turkish Republic who was assassinated by a Turkish nationalist in 2007. I dare say that perverting this chant, created as a sign of solidarity with a persecuted minority, is no worse or less sensitive than Prime Minister Erdoğan’s plan to name the third Istanbul bridge, another highly contested privatization of public space that will result in the felling of 2.5 million trees, after an Ottoman Sultan responsible for nearly exterminating all of the country’s Alevi (a non-Sunni Muslim denomination, to which two of our colleagues at AnatoliaLit belong).

I point all of this out simply to exemplify how complicated the issues truly are. Yes, we all oppose the voracious privatization of public spaces, we all desire regime change, and it is important that we be united on these fronts at this moment. However, not all of us agree on what exactly the changes should be. So, keep this in mind, and be wary of what you read in the news. The Western press is highly adept at depicting everything in this part of the world through a neo-Orientalist lens. As consumers of the news, please remain vigilant!

Prime Minister Erdoğan has stated that ‘we can barely restrain the fifty percent’, by which he means the fifty percent that voted for his party. In saying this, he is effectively calling on them to take to the streets. They have already begun doing so, though not yet in large numbers. This could change at any moment.

We have no choice but to prepare for the worst and hope for the best. That said, we are hopeful; indeed, very hopeful. The casualties suffered will not be in vain. The Turkish stock market may hit rock bottom and business (including our business!) may suffer. But, as Annie says, ‘the sun will come out tomorrow.’

So, please bear with us as we engage in what very well could be a revolution. If we get a bit behind on e-mail, we hope you’ll understand!

Best wishes,

Amy Spangler and the rest of the AnatoliaLit Team: Dilek Akdemir, Ayşe Baykal, Eda Çaça, Muhtesim Güvenç, Zarife Kaya

2 comments

  1. First of all, I would like to thank those who help me to be freed from by hands of Turkish police. I have just arrived my home. I would like to give inside information about my arrest and I would like world to know what has happened to me. I have no hidden agenda. I am going to give comprehensive information about my experience on this uprising.

    Last night (03.06.2013) I was arrested at Besiktas Barbaras street at 21:00. I wasn’t involved in stone throwing or insulting police officers. Police twisted my arm and arrested me. Couple of my friends witnessed this even on TV too. And, my hell experience had begun. I was made to walk towards Besiktas bus stop, it is about 100-150 meters walk and during this time, I was kicked and punched heavily. They were asking me ‘do you think you are going to rescue this country you mother f.rs”. I lost the count how many police officers has beaten me. This beating continued when they put me into a bus. I found out later that they have parked to bus in a position where it was dark and out of camera view. Lights were switched off and I could hear a girl screaming for help ‘I didn’t do anything’. I didn’t see who was beating me because I was trying to protect my head all the time. They were swearing and insulting. I was sitting at one time and whoever was passing by me was hitting me. I stood up and they told me to sit down, I told them you are hitting me and they attacked me and started punching me again. A Turkish police named Suleyman grabbed the girls throat and said following’ I will bend you over here and fcuk here’. And, she was only able to say ‘ok’ because of the fear.

    We were 3 of us in the bus and they made us shout out‘ I love Turkish police and my country”. They made us shout even louder and louder. Beating, Swearing and insulting continued. I was quit for a little while than they brought in another young guy in to the bus, he had a broken nose. I asked ‘ why didn’t you protect your nose’ and he said ‘three police got hold of me and started punching my face”. New people kept coming in. Around 20 Special Forces attached a student named Mustafa at Bahcesehir University and he couldn’t stand on his feed. They hit him with their helmets and pushed his head to bus’s window. His hands were handcuffed and he was bleeding at his head. I tried to help his bleeding by covering his head by putting a t-shirt but I was ordered by (suleyman) officer to go and sit down. I said ‘ he is bleeding’. He said ‘so what’. We told other police officers about his situation and they took his handcuffs off. We couldn’t go to toilets in the bus; they gave us a bottle of water.

    They took us to hospital for medical check and than the police station. When we got to the police station, Mustafa asked ’did they hit me in the bus”. He couldn’t remember anything that took place in the bus. There were army of solicitors waiting for us, and suddenly those police officers became very polite.

    I would like to thank those solicitors and those who informed them about us. These are my experience, my honest personal experience. I just wanted the rest of the world to know.

    This fascist system is going to end.
    Erkan Yolalan – Translated by Eray Cakir

Bir Cevap Yazın

